Do as Infinity live report!

It was a night of nostalgia for fans that turned up for the long-awaited solo concert of iconic Japanese music band – Do As Infinity. Co-organised by Avex Asia and SOZO as part of the “First Live” series for the band, the concert held at Capitol Theatre, on 23 September 2017 at 7pm saw a turnout of 1,000 attendees.

Prior to doors opening at 6.30pm, queues occupied mainly by die hard fans wearing the band’s latest tour tee had started snaking by midday.


The band kicked off the concert with ‘Alive’, a collaborative song with famous music composer Sawano Hiroyuki, followed by the popular hit ‘Desire’ where vocalist Van Tomiko hit all  thehigh notes in a pitch-perfect manner.

Intentionally or coincidentally, the songstress was clothed in an interesting combination of white sleeveless top with red pants which coincide with our national colours. “Thank you for coming tonight and let’s enjoy together!” said the cool songstress, before blasting the audience with hits off the Oricon Chart like ‘Week!’ and ‘Rakuen’. During the Canon Photo Party! session at the song ‘Hi no Ataru Sakamichi’, guitarist Ryo Owatari’s request to have him look slimmer in the pictures led to a big burst of laughter among the crowd.

The humorous side of Ryo was also seen in one of the later emcee session where he started off with a story of him getting drenched in rain earlier in the day. He explained that he encountered a storm all of a sudden while crossing a bridge and was hit by a realisation that he may be the unlucky man that always brought rain to their concerts. “Rain man.” Van said with a chuckle.

Moving back to the performance, fans of anime were exhilarated when the band played ‘Shinjitsu no Uta’ and ‘Fukai Mori’, both songs from the popular anime series ‘Inuyasha’. However, the highlight of the show was when Van echoed the hall with ‘Yesterday and Today’. Accompanying Van’s distinctive low voice, the audience sang along in emphatic voice and waved hands in a synchronised manner. It was evident that the song was a big favourite among many Singaporeans as they reminisced the good o’ days of JPop music infiltration.

Leaving the slow acoustic behind, the band was ready to rock the audience with a series of fast and high energy hits like ‘Tooku Made’ and ‘Kimi Ga Inai Mirai’. Spontaneously, the audience started jumping and throwing arms in air, bringing the concert to the next level.

Their performance seemingly ended on the high notes of ‘Honjitsu Wa Seiten Nari’ before the band members reappeared from the black curtains after rounds of fervent encore shouting from the fans.


“Our new single is ready and now we are working on our new album. Till then, we really want to come back and have fun again!” Van expressed before singing their encore hit ‘Hiiragi’. Throughout the night, the band delivered a consistent high-quality performance, leaving many fans wishing that the music will go on forever.

Do As Infinity released their 29th singles [To Know You] on 27 September. Check out the video below.


Tour Band Introduction

Vocal: Van Tomiko

Guitar: Ryo Owatari

Keyboard: Kenta Yamamoto

Bass: Michitaro Shimamoto

Drum: Jun Matsumoto


Do As Infinity 1st LIVE in Singapore Setlist 2017

  1. Alive
  2. Boukenshatachi (冒険者たち)
  3. Desire
  4. Week!
  5. Oasis
  6. Rakuen (楽園)
  7. Hi no ataru sakamichi (陽のあたる坂道) (Canon Photo Party)
  8. Chikai (誓い)
  9. TAO
  10. Shinjitsu no uta (真実の詩)
  11. Fukai Mori (深い森)
  12. Yesterday & Today
  13. Tooku Made (遠くまで)
  14. Mysterious Magic
  15. Ariadone no Ito (アリアドネの糸)
  16. Kimi ga inai mirai (君がいない未来)
  17. Honjitsu wa seiten nari (本日ハ晴天ナリ)

Encore 1. Hiiragi (柊)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *